The Process

As a woman who dabbles in the arts, I’ve grown accustom to ugly beginnings when I start a new painting/drawing/sketch/etc. Nothing will ever look complete unless I take the time to finish it, to truly lose myself to the colours, shapes, shades, patterns, and lines that I see. This morning, I definitely lost myself to my artwork. I started it about two days before and I kept taking pictures each time I stopped working on it. It was really interesting to see how it evolved from start to finish… and this got me thinking about the process behind completing anything, whether it’s artwork, homework, projects, etc. Some processes provide instant gratification as the time taken till completion is short. However, some take longer than others.

In that being said, it all boils down to patience and determination if we fall into a long process. The idea of giving up can easily creep in when results aren’t apparent. Heck, I’ve been known to stop half way through a painting and start a new concept because I don’t get how to get a specific texture translated into my work.

So here’s the deal, should we only pursue the processes which will only provide instant gratification to be happy, or should we tackle both the quick processes and the ones that will bear fruit later on? Which ones do you seek out?

©Farrah Merza: The rough sketch, the beginning.
©Farrah Merza: I stopped here for the night
©Farrah Merza: Resumed in the morning and then took a break
©Farrah Merza: The second break of the day today
©Farrah Merza: The End, the finished artwork. See how the picture kept changing? It was definitely very gratifying when done even though it took a couple days to complete it.
Leave a Reply

