Blogging and the Social Change

I’ve noticed a social change… not exactly a revolution of sorts, but more like a shift in the way we interact with others. It’s a change that I believe we’re oblivious to. However, maybe you’ll get what I’m talking about as you read on.

While browsing the many fashion gurus on youtube, I stumbled across this video from FAWN (For all Women’s Network) – a channel born from a collaboration of famous youtube beauty gurus Promise Phan, Jessica Harlow, Bethany Mota (macbarbie07), Andrea (AndreasChoice), Michelle Phan, Chriselle Lim, and Daven Mayeda. The one thing that struck me the most was what Daven Mayeda said during their show Close up & Personal:

“We’ve lived in such a time for so many years where everything was secret, like all of our trades were secret, like I couldn’t tell you what lipstick I used [or] I couldn’t tell you what hair spray I used because everybody was kinda’ for themselves… I feel like everybody’s more open with information.”  – Daven Mayeda

Jane Marie (the editor of TheHairpin.com and a guest on their show) went further to say that now not everybody is afraid of having their secrets out there for everyone else to know. Don’t they have a point? I think they do. Blogging and youtube has definitely changed the way most of us interact. People have channels dedicated to sharing recipes, beauty tips, and other trade secrets. To be honest, I welcome this change. It’s great to share with others and in turn expand your knowledge when they share with you… it’s essentially a big “share-fest” and we’re all invited!

But here’s the really big kick in the pants for those that want to keep everything to themselves and still want to be known: Michelle Phan added that people are more interested in those that share versus the people that just hoard information for themselves. So, if your ultimate goal is to be dicovered, all you have to do is share. It really is a simple act… and yet it demands so much from us.

So here’s my question to you, why is it so hard to share?

***********

Dear Readers,

I think I’m back.

Love,
– Farrah

©Andrea Eugenia
2 thoughts on “Blogging and the Social Change”

  1. Gah. Your hair!

    As for why not share, I find that I tend to keep to myself a lot of the music I listen to because I feel that other people wouldn’t appreciate it much the same way. This might be because I’ve seen how radio can overplay a song to its grave. At least that’s my reasoning behind hoarding music.

    However, recently a friend of mine started a Facebook group called “Music You May Like” for people to share the music they are listening to. What was interesting was that it wasn’t so much about sharing the music that you think is really different, but it was just whatever they were listening. In that way it was very much stream of conscious as it reflected their thoughts and feelings at the time, and as you scrolled through posts from all these different personalities, it tells a rather fascinating story of our inter-connectivity.

    The more we share the more that knowledge becomes general and the easier it becomes to communicate and relate to one another. When you can draw reference to what would otherwise be unknown to others, you no longer have to waste time filling the gaps. I think we’re moving faster towards this, and it really is a great thing to behold.

    The issue is in the quality of the information that is shared. This refers to the way in which it is composed, and the way it is packaged when shared. A lot of the time these posts will go unnoticed as they are not appealing enough for people to click on them, as they are unaware of how the information will benefit them. I find that it is a select few who are genuinely interested in seeking these posts out by themselves rather than having it handed to them. Most of these people subscribe to curated feeds that provide them with their daily dose of intellectualism.

    Personally I love Arts & Letters Daily, The Daily Grail, Daily Show, and South Park for keeping me sated with food for thought. Where do you get your fix? (:

    1. Haha great comment! It’s true what you say.

      As for my fix, I don’t really have a specific source. Ideas spring up on walks, while reading books and articles, etc. I guess you could say life is my fix!

Leave a Reply

