Time and Place

This is the thing with my father, conversations with him usually lead me to insights that I then translate in my blog.  Not that I’m saying that EVERY post is all him, but quite a few have been sparked because of something he has said.  Why?  Because, in my eyes, he’s right.  You can guess how it was like growing up with him.  We didn’t fight by any means because we didn’t have to.  His reasoning was enough for me and trust me when I say that he had them for everything.  I am serious when I say that I agreed with them (and still do by the way).  So now, as I am accustom to, I want to share the most recent and one of the most drilled in discussions between me and my father:

“There’s a time and place for everything.”

… can you see what I mean?  You can’t fight that!  Well, I can’t and don’t want to because this makes sense to me.  If you think about it, there are many experiences that happen at a specific time in our lives, but if attempted later will not be the same.  A prime example would be going to university when you are fresh out of high school vs when you are older.  It wouldn’t be the same experience if, later on in life, you decide to go back.  Most likely, you will be doing it for different reasons… am I right?  Now, just hold on for a second, in no way am I trying to dissuade those who are going back for further education and qualifications.  All I am pointing out is that your perspective and experience will differ from those dewy-eyed 17 year olds.

I’ve had this discussion with my father throughout my life and you know what, I definitely grew and gained some insight on life and living it.  There are other examples I have which further proves his point, I really do.  But, at risk of this post becoming an essay and quite possibly a lecture, I will leave it to you to decide if you want to take the time to think about your experiences, their time, and their places.

2 thoughts on “Time and Place”

Leave a Reply

