Oh the Lessons of Life

Stop spending time with the wrong people.  Life is too short to spend time with people who suck the happiness out of you.  If someone wants you in their life, they’ll make room for you.  You shouldn’t have to fight for a spot.  Never, ever, insist yourself to someone who continuously overlooks your worth.  And remember, it’s not the people that stand by your side when you [are] at your best, but the ones who stand beside you when you [are] at your worst. [They]  are your true friends. Stop being jealous of others.  Jealousy is the art of counting someone else’s blessings instead of your own.  Ask yourself this:  “What’s something I have that everyone wants?” [Note from me: Steer yourself away from this. Do not even dwell on what you have vs what they don’t.  Dwelling on this will only feed their green eyed monster and your pride.]  Stop letting others bring you down to their level.  Refuse to lower your standards to accommodate those who refuse to raise theirs.  It is not difficult to be a better person.

– Anonymous

Wow.  Well, at least that was my expression when I first read these words.  They still resonate in my head. In fact, I was compelled by these very words so much that I felt the need to write about them.  They are universal truths that hold true, especially in the most dire and dismal social situations.  We are constantly wrapped up in the motions of life that we sometimes need a little reminding of these rather simple and obvious lessons.  It is natural for us, as human beings, to get caught up in this infectious green monster and the other six deadly sins.  But, it is those who overcome these major obstacles that truly learn how to live in and at peace.  It’s not easy though, is it.  I hate to remind everyone of the obvious but… there is no escape!  There will always be that coexistence of the good, the bad, and the ugly in all walks of life.  However, it is your attitude and apptitude that will steer you either towards being mentally consumed by the bad and the ugly, or towards being mentally free of them.  I know which path I want to steer myself towards, but the question is which path will you pick?

4 thoughts on “Oh the Lessons of Life”

    1. Oh goodness, thank you!! I am honestly just inspired by everything around me.

      BTW, I didn’t know you had a blog! I know what I’m going to do tonight, enjoy a hot cup of almond milk while doing some much needed catching up on your trip to France (… of which I am super jealous haha!)

      :)

  1. “Victory is changing the hearts of your opponents by gentleness and kindness.”- Saladin.

    I post that quote because it truly defines and elaborates the last two sentences of the quote you posted :D.

    This means a lot to me as i have been in such a situation. So reading your post only validates my solitude and resolve. Very good post Farrah.

    1. Saladin had a point didn’t he, a very good point indeed. But, if I may extend on his quote, forgiveness is divine as well as it shows your own strength when faced with these problems that will present themselves. Thank you for the share!

      I am glad it left such an impression on you; it only makes me want to write more. I guess I could say in turn, that it validates my intentions and motivations for writing. Thank you :)

Leave a Reply

