Size Matters… or Does It?

As of late, I’ve become a health nut (more so than usual), recording what I eat to track calories (being aware of sugar percetages etc) and, of course, making sure I feel as guilty as hell for eating unhealthy food.  I frequent the gym, doing hardcore self designed workouts, and attending a couple classes.  Long story short, I’ve become more in-tuned to the fitness world. 

One of the classes I partake in is Yoga, a test of flexibility and concentration… which means naturally I struggle at it.  Sue me, I’ve never done Hatha Yoga before!  I consider myself to have a petite body type (although not so tiny mind you), and you would think that I’d be more flexible.  Umm, not so much!  The instructer was taller and larger, but she was so flexible, floating her legs while in perfect balance on her two hands in the firefly pose.  It was incredible!  All I could do was sit and stare!  I’m sure I wasn’t the only one! 

This whole experience got me thinking about the countless magazines and do-it-yourself books on fitness and health on the market.  Most depict the idealistic body types of both men and women, with their rock hard abs and toned bodies.  To be quite honest, (and I hate to sound like a realist/pessimist here but…), it seems a tad bit unrealistic.  Us humans do not all share the same body type, we are not a cookie cuttered race of beings.  We all have different body fat percentages and BMI’s, different shapes, and different sizes.  However, one could argue that these images provide motivation to those aspiring to loose a couple pounds and tone up.  The downside?  Some people might hop off the fitness bandwagon if they don’t get results like those in the magazines, completely ditching healthy nutrition and exercises.  This train of thought brought me to this conclusion (specifically relating to women):  We tend to associate the epitome of fitness and health with skinnier body types.  Please correct me if I’m wrong as this is problematic on so many different levels.  But, can we blame ourselves?  Not really.  Most print and television media put both images of health and idealistic body types side by side, saying, “what do you think?” (Russel Peter reference).  I am certainly not implying that this is the absolute truth as there are obvious exceptions to this rule.  I just think there should be more. 

I am now seeing celebrities being bashed for being too skinny and bigger women gracing the print adds about healthy weight loss and nutrition.  Ladies, we are on the right track here!  I hope that this snowballs into the mainstream culture, where every shape and size is celebrated.  Being healthy should be the only thing that matters. 

***

… Thought I’d be talking about THAT size didn’t you, DIDN’T YOU?!?!  Busted!  *gigles wildly*.  *Ahem*

 

 

Leave a Reply

