Motivation

I’ve always been insanely jealous of those that seem to be doing everything, not wasting any time persuing their passions, all the while maintaining their high popularity status and obligations.  How do they do it?  Stay that motivated all the time?  That was a question brought up by one of my friends in a recent conversation we had discussing how to squeeze in Yoga into our busy schedules.  We all have a “bajillion” things to do and it seems like there aren’t enough hours to do so.  It is indeed hard to juggle a lot of things you want to do.  If we want to stick to that metaphor, I suggest starting off with two balls and then gradually work your way up to five.  That way organizing everything won’t come as a complete shock, making it less daunting and not as overwhelming.

The key is to prioritize, making sure that you fulfil the most important things first, whether that be school or work or whatever else you deem important.  When those are out of the way, you have more time to focus on the other things in life.  It helps when you create a list.  Granted I haven’t been a big list maker, but I have recently started to write things down.  This simple task has made it easier to prioritize.

Another important piece of the puzzle is your surroundings.  What do I mean by that?  I mean making sure that you are in a comfortable space.  Still confused?  Okay, take for example yoga.  I try and make time for yoga every night before I go to bed.  I’ve designed my room using “earthy” elements, making the space inviting and warm.  I feel comfortable and at ease, thus helping me stay focused on my breathing and poses.  Another example would be going to the gym.  Once I have made that commitment to drag myself to one, the atmosphere alone encourages me to push myself.  So you see, outside influences and surroundings also affect your motivation.

It is my hope that this post will help those in need of a little push and some tips to help them stay motivated.  This was my first requested post, and I hope it helped the person in question (I will name no names!).  

I HAVE SPOKEN! (inside joke)

Leave a Reply

